Who Do You Write Like?

Have you ever wondered what your writing style is like?   My favorite author is Kurt Vonnegut, and I know I’ve made many an attempt to write like him.  I’ve even gone so far as to go out and write random thoughts down on cocktail napkins like he did while he wrote “Cat’s Cradle,” (that’s why the chapters are so short).

Well, now you can take portions of things you’ve written and slap it into this very interesting website and it will analyze what you wrote fairly quickly.   It doesn’t change too much either, at least for me.  It might if you really vary your writing style.

Give it a shot.  Throw in fiction stories, blog posts, news articles and see what it says.  If you’ve got a style like a Stephen King or an Edgar Allan Poe – we want you for Eat Your Serial – that’s for sure!

2 thoughts on “Who Do You Write Like?

  1. Wow, I can’t believe that meme is still going around. It’s racist (there are no non-white authors on it, and the creator refuses to add any) and sexist (there are only three women, and the author refuses to add any more). As far as I understand, it doesn’t even really do much to analyze your writing. I, and just about everyone I know, get different results with different pieces of writing!

    • Sorry that you feel this way… it’s obviously not an accurate pinpoint system – I think it’s just meant for plain simple fun. It doesn’t change for me as I’ve done it multiple times with different pieces of writing. Besides – while this was an exercise in silly creativity – we really do encourage all of our writers to be themselves and find their own voice. Thanks for commenting though!

Leave a Reply

