What is Your Favorite Serial?

Whether we realize it or not, we’ve been exposed to serials all our lives. One of my favorite serials is Scott Adam’s Dilbert comic strip; this is probably because I feel like Dilbert sometimes in my day to day. Serials come in any form really, be it on TV, in cartoon form, video games, or movie trilogies.

 

As a kid, I used to be well informed on my Mom’s favorite soap opera, All My Children, and I’m sure some of the story lines  from when I was a kid are still unresolved. It’s a shame, as Brandon mentioned in his “A Toast to Soaps” blog post, that All My Children is getting canceled. My Mom just got a dvr so she wouldn’t miss an episode, too. How’s that for irony in your favorite serial?

 

WWE LogoTo answer my own question, my favorite serial is the same serial that has consumed the majority of my life – World Wrestling Entertainment (WWE). Wrestling has been around since the early 1900s and the WWE promotion has been around since the 1960s. RAW is currently WWE’s flagship show and it’s been airing live every Monday night (with some exceptions) since January 11, 1993. As of July 11, 2011, there have been 945 episodes of RAW and it is shown in over 50 countries (obviously not all live).

 

What makes my serial so special? Let’s start with the fact that the talent performs in front of a live audience approximately 300 days a year (both domestically and abroad).  Sure wrestling is scripted, but WWE’s talent engages in physicality that is equal to, if not greater than, professional athletes. Sometimes the performances are borderline insanity; for example, one wrestler may leap off a 15 foot ladder onto another wrestler on top of a table (you can’t fake physics!). The in ring action is only half the fun, though, as the storylines are why wrestling is often called the male soap opera (I guess my Mom can watch WWE after All My Children is canceled!). These story lines are dramatic, humorous, and occasionally are real (or partially real), tossing the scripted storyline to the side.

 

One of the most controversial real storylines involved the 1997 Montreal Screw Job when Bret Hart went into a match being told it would end in a “no contest” only to have his real life boss, Vince McMahon, fix the match so Shawn Michaels would win. 1997 was the last time Bret Hart would be seen on air with the WWE until last year when his legitimate anger finally subsided. I’m sure the truck loads of money Vince probably paid him to come back didn’t hurt either.

 

I could ramble on forever about the WWE but in short, my serial is one of the longest running serials that showcases live wrestling, acting (some good, some bad), and emotion (some fake, some real). So, what’s your favorite serial?

12 thoughts on “What is Your Favorite Serial?

  1. Ah, my favorite serial. The WWE as a serial is pretty solid, to say the least. I’ve been following it myself all my life, to say the least. You’ve got a solid serial to follow, my friend. Albeit, it hasn’t been very qualitative as of late, it’s still pretty up there. And, if you feel like you gotta do some follow ups through this epic site, go right ahead. I’ll feel free to throw in my 2 cents if you need some extra change.

    But, my favorite serial? Man, that’s gonna be a tough one. I was going to say Spider Man, but boy did they mangle that up in Marvel. I was going to say X-men, but again, mangled. I was even going to say something along the lines of the Angry Video Game Nerd or the Nostalgia Critic, but in this case, they are critics and storylines aren’t really supposed to be that prevalent.

    My choice? Find out, if you’re interested….

  2. Okie dokie. So, my favorite serial, is going to be a bit out of left field. But, my fave serials, off the top of my head is not Captain N. Sorry. I like it a lot, but no. It’s not even Cowboy Bebop or Samurai Champloo. Although, Shinichiro Watanabe is quite the director.

    Actually, my fave serial is a tie………..between the Mario and Zelda storylines. Anyone care to challenge?

  3. @efa682 I appreciate the feedback here and on the book of faces. WWE’s creative approach goes in cycles but it’s certainly on the rise these days

  4. @JPedde Well I’d have to argue that having an integrated comic books universe that allows for large scale and regular crossovers, between multiple plot lines, generally leading to Company wide status quo changing events has a strong argument for being a massively large serial with characters and subplots intermingling in a massive creator participation level….but yes its a bit of a cop out. On a smaller scale I’d have to say that I’m a fan of Superman, Spider-Man, and X-Men in general but those are the touchstone books of their respective companies at large…#circularlogic

  5. @JPedde

    You’re taking the longevity and lengthy cartoon series of Garfield and Peanuts, translated into cartoons, with years in comic age, against the extended storylines, through multiple game consoles of the Mario Brothers or Zelda.

    Hmm….

  6. @efa682@JPedde Well I’d say that @JPedde has a great point. Peanuts was a continuous story for, I think over 50 years, and Garfield for over 30 now. The Mario and Zelda storylines, while personal favorites of mine, in terms of serialization are fantastic but in terms of continuous story leave a lot of room for debate (though an avid Garfield fan would certainly argue about Lyman and who Odie’s true owner is) because there isn’t much story crossover between titles as much as cast building (Mario specifically). Though that certainly doesn’t discredit the strength of either series.

    #Ilovethisthread

Leave a Reply

