Avengers Assemble: Cheers from New and Old Fans

Along with the millions of other people that flocked to the movies this weekend, I went and saw The Avengers on the opening night. The movie actually made about $200.3 million its opening weekend in North American theaters all over the country, a new record. One difference that I have, and I’m sure many other people had in common with me, is that I have no previous knowledge of the Avengers story, other than the movies that I had previously seen like Captain America, Thor etc.

Source Art: IMP Awards

Credit: Marvel and Walt Disney Pictures

Being that I am completely unbiased to the Marvel superheroes, and am not much of a comic book fan myself, I went into seeing this movie, to be completely honest, solely because Samuel L. Jackson was in it. I was pleasantly surprised how much I actually enjoyed the movie even though I did not know much of the back-story.

The story begins with S.H.I.E.L.D director Nick Fury (Jackson) arriving at a S.H.I.E.L.D facility during a security breach, and evacuation to find that the tesseract (an energy source with a ridiculous amount of power and unknown potential) has been activated and a portal opened. Enter Thor’s exiled brother, Loki (Tom Hiddleston), and trouble begins. Loki manipulates the minds of a few S.H.I.E.L.D members, including Dr. Erik Selvig (Stellan Skarsgard) and Agent Clint Barton, also known as Hawkeye (Jeremy Renner), in order to aid him in his quest for world domination.  What’s a guy to do when a source of power that could potentially wipe out the population of the world has been stolen by a good guy gone bad? Call the Avengers (duh)!

One of the best parts of the movie was the introduction of the team. Each character had a clever introduction that was both funny, and action packed. Moviegoers were introduced to Dr. David Banner, a.k.a The Incredible Hulk (Mark Ruffalo), after Agent Natasha Romanoff, a.k.a The Black Widow (Scarlett Johansson), has lured him to the edge of an Indian city to brief him on the situation and recruit him to the rescue effort. What was even better was that Agent Phil Coulson (Clark Gregg), who was also recruiting the super heroes, is actually a huge fanboy of Captain America (Chris Evans), and had no shame in showing it.

The audience is also eventually reintroduced to Tony Stark, Iron Man (Robert Downey Jr.), and Thor (Chris Hemsworth) before the action begins.  From there on out, the movie is a combination of action, comedy, tragedy and tension. Who will win this epic battle of good vs. evil? I can’t tell you, because I fear for my own safety if I give any spoilers away in this review.

My only real gripe with this film is that while you don’t need to be fully knowledgeable of the story, it definitely does help. There were some parts that would reference the comic book, and if you’ve never read the comics you’re slightly left in the dark.

Thor and Captain America Join Forces Credit: Marvel and Walt Disney pictures

 

 

Overall, it was a solid and entertaining movie. Hardcore Marvel fan or not, this movie was enjoyable and not hard to follow. However, I would not suggest attending with a hardcore fan if you are not, they don’t seem to appreciate you asking questions during key scenes.

One thought on “Avengers Assemble: Cheers from New and Old Fans

Leave a Reply

