The Toast | ††† Crosses †††

While toying around Instagram, I noticed that “crossesmusic” had posted a picture of the album art to a new track they did. The band, better known by the symbols †††, remixed Dragula by Rob Zombie.

Now, I have only previewed this song, and from th

e sounds of it, it’s a completely new twist on an old classic, but this review is not about that song. Seeing that announcement made me want to go back and listen to the ††† EP. What first attracted me to the record was the fact that it was a side project of Deftones singer Chino Moreno. If the idea of a new side project from one of my favorite singers didn’t seal the deal completely, the fact that the EP was FREE on their website did. I love the melodramatics of Moreno’s voice; something about it just strikes a chord with me, and with this record, that was no different.

†††’s EP also includes Far guitarist Shaun Lopez, and Scott Chuck. This dark EP seems to hold a religious undertone to its moody exterior, and their music has been frequently compared to the witch house music genre. The simplest description of the genre, which is still hotly debated, is occult-based house music. Every title on this EP has a cross in the title. For example, the opening track, †his Is A †rick. The song has a buzzing in the background that always sounded like the ring-tone of a phone. When I first started listening to it, I thought I had accidentally dialed my phone.

My favorite track, Op †ion, sounds like it tells the story of the second coming of Jesus. “I dream a day that God will surface to retrieve his nails and open your heart,” while there is definitely a religious theme to the song, it is also a love song. “Just open your heart and say ‘I swear on the cross.’
Can you promise this to the grave you’ll take my name can you promise me?” When Moreno sings that line, it seriously gives me chills. Towards the end of the song, he belts out “I wish I could take your hand and make it true.” I love the passion that drives this song.
While I enjoyed the whole EP, another track that stood out to me was †hholyghs† (the holy ghost). Yes, the religious themes are still very prevalent throughout the song, but it has a much more sinister feel to it. In the middle of the song, there is a spooky sound effect that could be pulled directly from a haunted house. My favorite part of the song is the big ending. You’ll have to listen to see what I mean.

I listened to this EP non-stop when it came out, and now that I am revisiting it, I can’t stop listening to it again. If you like the Deftones, or maybe you’re a fan of music that you won’t hear on the Top 40 Countdown with Ryan Seacrest, then you’ll appreciate the eccentricity, the style and the passion behind the ††† EP.

One thought on “The Toast | ††† Crosses †††

Leave a Reply

