The Father-Daughter Dance

The countdown is on! The wedding is a little more than seven months away and I’m slowly, but surely, getting all the planning done. As you know, I’ve been having some difficulty selecting the music for the first dance at my wedding. This is still a t

ask that has not been completed, but I have managed to pick a song for the father-daughter dance.

I’m what you would call a “Daddy’s girl,” so it was important for me to pick a great song for what will be a huge milestone in my relationship with my father. When I first started this process, I already had a song in my mind, “In My Dreams” by Dokken. Now, before you die of laughter and shake your head in disgust at my hair metal wedding song selection, there are two things you need to know. One, I didn’t end up picking this song in the end, and two, there’s a story behind this.

When I was younger, I used to listen to music in the basement with my dad. It was in that basement that I discovered my love for music, all music. We would listen to a lot of different stuff, including bands like Dokken. I can’t quite recall how old I was, but I was small enough that in order to really dance with my dad, I either had to step on his feet and have him do the actual moving, or he would twirl me around to the music. While there were probably other songs we danced to, “In My Dreams” is the one that stands out the most in my mind. Still to this day, dancing with my father in the basement to Dokken has to honestly be one of the happiest memories I have.

While I cherish this memory, it occurred to me that I may not be so fond of that song in the future while looking back on my wedding day and remembering dancing with my father to hair metal. So, the search began. Then I found Darius Rucker, a.k.a Hootie of Hootie and the Blowfish.

Did you know he went country? Neither did I! While doing research on the various wedding blogs, I discovered a country song of his called “It Won’t Be Like This For Long” on a list of suggestions for the father-daughter dance. I decided to give it a shot.

To my pleasant surprise, it was a touching song about a man watching his daughter grow up. It discussed the tough times of raising his daughter and the various people telling the father (a pre-school teacher, his wife) “it won’t be like this for long.” The song resonated with me. There’s a part of the track where he talks about dropping her off at preschool and she clings to his leg and trying to get him to stay with her. I remember being that afraid to be without my father and how I thought he would never come back after being dropped off. I can also remember screaming “I hate you” as a teenager during fights, which the song also mentions. It even talks about a walk down the isle. This seemed like a perfect fit.

I brought the song to my dad and had him listen to it; I tried to fight back tears watching his reaction. It was a wonderful moment in the stressful wedding planning process.

I very much look forward to this dance with my father, even though I know once again, I will be fighting back tears. I know this will be another happy memory of my dad and me that I will cherish, always.

One thought on “The Father-Daughter Dance

  1. It is the hardest thing in the world to let go of your little princess,
    Into the hands of another man. Make the song selection a long slow one.
    My daughter chose for the father, daughter dance a Tango from the from the film “scent of a Woman”. Go figue.
    Mazel Tov! On your Wedding

Leave a Reply

