The Toast | Karmin

There are some songs that you immediately enjoy, and then there are some songs that grow on you. “Brokenhearted,” by Karmin, was one of those for me. I couldn’t quite figure out this song, but then again, some songs shouldn’t really be overanalyzed.

It’s a simple love song. Done. I liked it a lot more each time I heard it, but it was an interview that the group did on one of my favorite radio shows that really got me to listen to the whole album.

I am an avid listener of Elvis Duran and the morning show, and they had Karmin on, which consists of Amy Heidemann and Nick Noonan, a duo that totally won me over. After hearing their live performance of “Hello,” I decided to listen to the whole album. I was surprised with how much I actually liked it… and how much Heidemann sounds like a mix of Nicki Minaj and Busta Rhymes (no, I’m not kidding).

The song that made me come to the Minaj/Rhymes mash up conclusion is “I told you so.” With a booming bass leading into Heidemann rapping, my intial reaction was, “Did I pick the wrong song?” because she sounds like a dead ringer of Minaj. Then she started to sing. She has a beautiful voice that is perfectly complimented by her partner Noonan. As she began to rap again, she started to rap a lot faster, which is very reminiscent of Busta Rhymes’ style. Not to mention how they managed to incorporate a horn into the mix without making it sound absolutely ridiculous. It seriously blew my mind.

I’m not sure why I didn’t come to this conclusion sooner, because she does a little bit of rapping in the upbeat “Brokenhearted,” which is about how the two artists first met. It may be a little cheesy, but my favorite part of the song has to be during the chorus when she ends the line by saying “Cheerio.” Even if I forgot who actually sang the song or what the song was called, I could always identify it by the “Cheerio!”

Then there’s “Hello,” which is a perfect mix of pop, dance music and hip-hop, and shoots down any type of criticism people may have. “ Little haters, big dreams I don’t care what you think about me.
Two-faced, old friends, told me, the end was near, forget them.”

When it comes to pop music, I’m pretty skeptical. It all usually sounds exactly the same and even if I like the artist, most of the time, they end up as one hit wonders that eventually fade away. Karmin is a breath of fresh air in the pop game and their fun, catchy, energetic album, though short (it’s only 7 tracks), was enjoyable from beginning to end. They said during their interview on the radio that they were currently working on the follow up. Let’s just hope that Heidemann and Noonan keep making beautiful music together and don’t fall way to the likes of other famous musical couples and part ways, both professionally and personally.

Leave a Reply

