The Toast | The Killers, Battle Born

I’ll admit right up front; I’ve never really considered myself a fan of The Killers. I’ve definitely liked some of their songs (anyone who says “Mr. Brightside” didn’t get stuck in there head is a liar), but their music as a whole never really caugh

t on in my world. I also must admit, this is the first album of theirs I’ve listened to in its entirety.

The band recently released their fourth studio album Battle Born, and I’ve heard a lot of chatter about it. When doing a little research on this album, I found some critics comparing this to Green Day and Muse. This was not a good start in my book, but since it has been getting mostly raves from critics and some of my friends, I decided it was about time to give this band another shot. It took me two full listens to develop a solid opinion of it.

The band’s first single “Runaways” sounds like it belongs on a Springsteen album, but don’t be fooled. The Killers lead singer, Brandon Flowers, is no Bruce Springsteen. While he has a charisma that is quite similar to The Boss, he doesn’t have the soul. “We got engaged on a Friday night I swore on the head of our unborn child that I could take care of the three of us But I got the tendency to slip when the nights get wild.” Anyone else hear Springsteen’s voice in his or her head? If I didn’t know any better, I’d say this song was a cover. That being said, the song itself is actually probably one of the strongest on the album. Definitely a good pick for the lead single.

“Battle Born,” the album’s title track, is another strong song. A beaten down man’s fighting song is the best way to describe it. With lyrics like, “Up against the wall There’s something dying on the street When they knock you down You’re gonna get back on your feet,” it makes the listener feel like he or she can take on anything.

The album’s deluxe version included a remix of a track called “Flesh and Bone.” I’m not usually one for remixes, mostly because these days a remix usually means the same song with “WOMP WOMP WOMP” somewhere in the chorus. While the remix of this song is definitely more upbeat and definitely has a dance/dubstep influence to it, it wasn’t overly done, and to my surprise, I actually enjoyed it more than the original.

As I previously stated, I had to listen to this album twice before forming a solid opinion on it. And while I don’t hate it, it’s definitely not going on my list of “best albums ever recorded.”

This album sounds a lot different than the band’s earlier songs, and that’s not necessarily a bad thing. If anyone else has the same opinion on The Killers as I do, this is the album I’d suggest to start with if you’re deciding to give the band a second listen.

This is a solid effort by The Killers and it’s pretty clear that Bruce Springsteen influences the band. My final thought on this topic is that when your music sounds way too much like the musician who influences you, does that mean you’ve made a great album or you’ve ripped off your mentor? Give the album a listen and you decide.Rich Text AreaToolbarBold (Ctrl + B)Italic (Ctrl + I)Strikethrough (Alt + Shift + D)Unordered list (Alt + Shift + U)Ordered list (Alt + Shift + O)Blockquote (Alt + Shift + Q)Align Left (Alt + Shift + L)Align Center (Alt + Shift + C)Align Right (Alt + Shift + R)Insert/edit link (Alt + Shift + A)Unlink (Alt + Shift + S)Insert More Tag (Alt + Shift + T)Toggle spellchecker (Alt + Shift + N)▼
Toggle fullscreen mode (Alt + Shift + G)Show/Hide Kitchen Sink (Alt + Shift + Z){#Shopp.desc}
FormatFormat▼
UnderlineAlign Full (Alt + Shift + J)Select text color▼
Paste as Plain TextPaste from WordRemove formattingInsert custom characterOutdentIndentUndo (Ctrl + Z)Redo (Ctrl + Y)Help (Alt + Shift + H)

I’ll admit right up front; I’ve never really considered myself a fan of The Killers. I’ve definitely liked some of their songs (anyone who says “Mr. Brightside” didn’t get stuck in there head is a liar), but their music as a whole never really caught on in my world. I also must admit, this is the first album of theirs I’ve listened to in its entirety.
The band recently released their fourth studio album Battle Born, and I’ve heard a lot of chatter about it. When doing a little research on this album, I found some critics comparing this to Green Day and Muse. This was not a good start in my book, but since it has been getting mostly raves from critics and some of my friends, I decided it was about time to give this band another shot. It took me two full listens to develop a solid opinion of it.
The band’s first single “Runaways” sounds like it belongs on a Springsteen album, but don’t be fooled. The Killers lead singer, Brandon Flowers, is no Bruce Springsteen. While he has a charisma that is quite similar to The Boss, he doesn’t have the soul. “We got engaged on a Friday night I swore on the head of our unborn child that I could take care of the three of us But I got the tendency to slip when the nights get wild.” Anyone else hear Springsteen’s voice in his or her head? If I didn’t know any better, I’d say this song was a cover. That being said, the song itself is actually probably one of the strongest on the album. Definitely a good pick for the lead single.
“Battle Born,” the album’s title track, is another strong song. A beaten down man’s fighting song is the best way to describe it. With lyrics like, “Up against the wall There’s something dying on the street When they knock you down You’re gonna get back on your feet,” it makes the listener feel like he or she can take on anything.
The album’s deluxe version included a remix of a track called “Flesh and Bone.” I’m not usually one for remixes, mostly because these days a remix usually means the same song with “WOMP WOMP WOMP” somewhere in the chorus. While the remix of this song is definitely more upbeat and definitely has a dance/dubstep influence to it, it wasn’t overly done, and to my surprise, I actually enjoyed it more than the original.
As I previously stated, I had to listen to this album twice before forming a solid opinion on it. And while I don’t hate it, it’s definitely not going on my list of “best albums ever recorded.”
This album sounds a lot different than the band’s earlier songs, and that’s not necessarily a bad thing. If anyone else has the same opinion on The Killers as I do, this is the album I’d suggest to start with if you’re deciding to give the band a second listen.
This is a solid effort by The Killers and it’s pretty clear that Bruce Springsteen influences the band. My final thought on this topic is that when your music sounds way too much like the musician who influences you, does that mean you’ve made a great album or you’ve ripped off your mentor? Give the album a listen and you decide.
Path:

Leave a Reply

