The Toast | American Horror Story

When it comes to television, I have a few issues, one of them being my addiction to reality television. I may not be a Real Housewives or Jersey Show fan, but you will catch me watching Dance Moms or Here Comes

Honey Boo Boo

on any given day. Say what you want about it, these are my guilty pleasures. My second problem is my inability to commit to watching a whole series (besides the shows I just mentioned).

It never used to be this way. I used to watch Nip/Tuck every week until the series finale. I was devastated when it ended. When I heard creator Ryan Murphy (yes, Glee’s Ryan Murphy) was coming out with another show even more provocative than Nip/Tuck, I was excited, and then I heard the title: American Horror Story.

The Harmon’s are a regular American family dealing with problems like miscarriage and infidelity. Kind of a dark introduction to a show, but leads the family to where the real story takes place, California; the Harmon’s move from the East Coast for a fresh start in a huge house. It’s worth mentioning that this house has a lot of “history” and that history has cause the house to be sold grossly under its actual value. If you haven’t caught on yet, the house is haunted. And while the realtor reveals that there has been some death in the house (a murder/suicide), the Harmon’s still decide to buy it.

The family consists of teen daughter Violet (Taissa Farmiga), wife Vivien (Connie Britton) and husband/psychiatrist Ben (Dylan McDermott). The house is huge and eerie. A part that creeped me out was when Vivien was peeling wallpaper off the wall, she discovers these demonic-like paintings underneath. When Ben asks her about them, I believe she describes them as “soothing” or something along those lines.

While getting settled into their new home, the housekeeper from the previous owners, Moira, shows up and asks for her job back. Moira, who is played by both Alexandra Breckenride and France Conroy, has a dark history, much like the house.

If the house isn’t strange enough for you, neighbor Constance Langdon (Jessica Lange) definitely is. She and her daughter, Adelaide (Jamie Brewer), are always finding their way into the house without knocking. To make it even stranger, Adelaide, who would appear to have a connection to the supernatural, has a nasty habit of telling the family “you’re going to die in this house.” Kind of gives you a warm, fuzzy feeling, doesn’t it?

The show is jam packed with suspenseful plot twists and creepy characters that leave the viewer feeling both exhilarated and horrified. The show is also full of mini plot lines that all relate to one another as the show continues. Not to mention the big name guest stars including Mena Suvari and Zachary Quinto.

Sex, murder, ghosts and much more, this show has it all. What I’ve just described is season one (now out on DVD). Season two starts October 17th and you don’t need to see the first season to start in on season two because it’s a whole new story in a completely different location. I like this idea because the writers won’t run the Harmon’s story completely into the ground. If you’re into horror like I am, or if you liked Nip/Tuck, you’ll definitely enjoy this series, but be warned. This show pushes the boundaries to the very edge of what can be shown on cable. If you’re not a fan of nudity, gore, disturbing images or blood, then you might want to stick to Glee.

One thought on “The Toast | American Horror Story

  1. Loved season one, great show with a great cast, I found this show riveting. I have my VCR programmed for season two.

Leave a Reply

