The Toast | Ellie Goulding’s Halcyon

It’s no surprise that Ellie Goulding has become a very popular artist. With the success of her last album and her hit “Lights” getting a lot of airplay on popular radio stations, everyone has anticipating the release of Ellie Goulding’s secon

d album. Well, the wait is over!

You may already be familiar with the first single from the record Halcyon. “Anything Could Happen” (and Goulding herself) is featured in a commercial for “Beats by Dre,” a headphone line created by Dr.Dre. In typical Goulding fashion, the song has an up-tempo electronic beat. What I enjoyed the most about this song is towards the end when it reaches a giant crescendo as she’s singing, “I know it’s gonna be.” Yes, this is the part that is featured in the commercial, but it is also (in my opinion) the strongest part of the song.

A favorite track of mine is called “My Blood.” It sounds like it was built around a heavy drum track, which is not necessarily a bad thing. The contrasting elements of her voice, the drums, the piano and even the chanting that occurs later in the song all make for a really interesting and enjoyable experience. It still had some of the electronic element that most of her music has, but I liked that this song was so different from the others.

“Only You” is another favorite off the album. With a title like this, you’d think this was passionate love song, but it’s actually not. With lyrics like “Only you can be the aching in my heart
My enemy, the only animal I couldn’t fight You hold me in the dark when storms arrive,” it’s kind of like saying “I love you, but I hate you.” I like that the song has a bit of conflict in it.

The title track “Halcyon” sounds like another troubled love song. “You show me what it feels like to be lonely You show me what it feels like to be lost I take your hand for you to let it go.” Though it appears she may be beaten down, she chants over and over “it’s gonna be better” as if she is trying to convince herself in order to get through the day.

This album had a very intimate feel to it. In my opinion, hardcore fans will really like this album, but it may not have the same mainstream appeal to it. I can’t think of any songs, besides the first single, that will really resonate with a pop radio crowd, with the exception of a bonus track that features Calvin Harris. “I need your Love” is a fun, infectious dance track that enhances the album, but if you don’t buy the deluxe version, you may be missing out.

I can’t get enough of this album. I’ve listened to it over and over since it’s October ninth release and it hasn’t gotten old yet. I love that she wasn’t afraid of the sophomore slump and took a chance with this album. It is that fearlessness that will carry this album to the same popularity as her debut. Check out this album!

Leave a Reply

