The Toast | The Truth About Love

I’ve been hearing a lot about the new Pink album since it came out in back in September. I have never really been a Pink fan, I’ve always thought she was trying way too hard to not be like her fellow female pop stars. Not to mention her first single “Blow me (one last kiss),” a “cleverly” titled kiss-off (no pun intended) song didn’t really rock my world.

It wasn’t until after the tragedies at Sandy Hook Elementary when my favorite morning show played a touching song by her called “Beam me up” that I thought I should give the album a shot.

“Beam me up” is a tender ballad about missing a loved one who is no longer around. When Pink recorded this song, I doubt she knew her song would be incorporated with such a tragic and horrific event, but with lyrics like “Could you beam me up, Give me a minute, I don’t know what I’d say in it Probably just stare, happy just to be there holding your face,” I can kind of understand why the radio could see a connection. I wish she would record more songs like this, not just for the emotional value to the song, but she actually showcases her voice. Surprise, she can sing, and quite well at that.

Her second single, “Try,” was an improvement from the first single, but not by much. Another song about love gone wrong but Pink makes sure to tell you (over and over) that you’ve got to keep trying even if you’ve been burned a million times. One thing I didn’t like about the song was how shrill her voice sounds. It’s almost painful. Once again, I like the message of the song and the honesty she’s trying to put into it, but there’s still something that doesn’t strike with me. It’s not a horrible song, but there is also not anything super memorable or notable about it.

While doing a little research on the album, I discovered that she co-wrote a song on the album called “Just Give Me A Reason” with Fun. frontman Nate Ruess. I am a huge fan of Ruess’ former band The Format and, I’ll admit it, Fun. is kind of growing on me, so I was curious to hear the song right off the bat. Hands down, this is the best track on the album. Not only did Ruess co-write the song, he sings on the track, too. Ruess has a distinctive and unique voice that added a lot to the song. What was also great about the track was that it was so simple. In my head, I can picture Ruess telling Pink to just chill out and sing. If he actually did, it was sound advice because I said before, she can actually sing when she’s not trying to growl, scream or make that shrilly high pitched noise that she does on most songs. I really enjoyed their two distinct voices coming together in harmony. I wish more of her songs were like this.

All in all, I didn’t love the album, but I didn’t hate it either. Going into the album not being a huge fan of her’s probably didn’t help, but she did win some points with me on some of her songs. Maybe a couple more listens will allow me to form a solid opinion. Until then, listen for yourself.

 

_______________

Written by: Katie Sperduti

 

 

2 thoughts on “The Toast | The Truth About Love

Leave a Reply

