90s Top Tracks

The 90s were a magical and diverse time for music. From grunge to rap to boy bands, the 90s had it all. In my opinion, the 90s were one of the greatest decades of music. This week, instead of a nostalgic glance at one album, I wanted to look back on some of my favorite songs of the 90s.

1. “Wannabe” – Spice Girls

 

 

 

 

Laugh all you want, this British band will have the last laugh in the end. Their reunion tour was a huge success (there are rumors of another one) and the song lives on (strongly) to this day as a symbol of girl power and friendship. This is a not so guilty pleasure of mine and you can catch me singing this at the top of my lungs any given day. I won’t lie, I saw the movie when it came out, too.

2.”Lovefool” – The Cardigans

 

 

 

 

 

 

This also happens to be one of my favorite karaoke songs today. When I first heard this song, it was in the movie Romeo and Juliet. Did I particularly like Shakespeare? No, but I did have a crush on the young Leonardo DiCaprio. I was also at the age where I was in love with love and this song was the ultimate love song in my eyes (not to mention the love story in the movie). Who can’t relate to being a fool for love?

3. “Freak on a Leash”-  Korn

 

 

 

 

 

 

Can you believe the album Follow the Leader, that featured this song as a single , came out in 1998? 15 years ago! I first got into the band through my brother. I thought he was cool and I wanted to mimic that. Little did I know that I could actually relate to this song. I wasn’t exactly miss popular in high school and felt isolated and bullied by my peers. Hearing a song that had a similar theme of isolation was comforting, even with that weird scat/beat box breakdown in the middle.

4. “Violet” – Hole

 

 

 

 

 

 

Courtney Love may be a hot mess but her early music was awesome. So tragically beautiful (and most likely drug fueled), you could hear the pain in her voice with this song. I’ll have to admit, while this is definitely one of my favorite songs from the era, it wasn’t during the 90s. Not until later on in life would I discover this song and if I’m not mistaken, it was during a break up. ” When they get what they want, and then they never want it again” just fueled my break up induced rage. I am a huge fan of Courtney Love’s husky voice then add that growl and it’s even better.

5.”No Diggity” – Blackstreet (feat. Dr.Dre and Queen Pen)

 

 

 

 

 

Don’t deny it, you love it, too. There’s just something so infectious and catchy about this song. Most recently, it was used in the movie Pitch Perfect and was even better A Capella. Blackstreet’s “Next Level” album was one of the very first hip hop albums I bought and still jam to out to to this day. When an album is good, it can last throughout the years and this album (and song) had staying power.

The 90s had some of the best music to this day and while I am hopeful for a repeat of such diversity of great music, I don’t think it would still come close to the caliber of these songs and others from the 90s.

 

________________

Written by: Katie Sperduti

 

 

Leave a Reply

