Reanimation

Last week, I wrote about Linkin Park’s debut album Hybrid Theory. Now admittedly, I am not a huge fan of the band, but as I’ve said before I can appreciate what they do as musicians for their genre. To follow up that review, I was told there was a remix album to Hybrid Theory called Reanimation. I’m not a huge fan of remix albums, mostly because I feel like it’s just a cop out. Why not just write new material? What I discovered on this album was that you can teach an old dog to do new tricks, or that you can make a totally new song out of an old one.

To start this off, I’ll make an embarrassing admission. I couldn’t read the titles of the tracks at first and I was throughway confused. Once I started staring at them (way longer than someone actually should) I could finally decipher what the names of the songs were.

In my last review, I forgot to mention the one song I actually liked on Hybrid Theory. “Papercut.” The difference between the two songs on each album is almost like night and day. To begin with, the name of the track on Reanimation is “PPR:Kut”. Even though the titles really threw my off, I like that they tried to find a new way to “name” the song. Secondly, there is a lot more rapping in “PPR:Kut” and a lot more bass which makes the tone sound a lot deeper.  Between the two versions of the song, for once, I actually think I like a remix better than the original.

“1Stp Klosr” (one step closer) is dramatically different from the original, from the structure of the song to the feeling of the song.  The original has an overall feeling of anger and tension, but with the Reanimation version of the song, it feels really sinister. If I could put this song in the movie, it would definitely be the theme song to the villain.  Another difference between the two songs is the addition of Korn singer Jonathan Davis to the Reanimation version. I have always been a fan of Jon Davis’ voice so hearing him on the track was a plus for me.  What I also noticed about the song was the lack of chorus. If you recall the chorus of the song, it goes “Everything you say to me (cause I’m one step closer to the edge and I’m about to break” and so on. In the remix, it’s still there, just not as often. A very simple song structure is verse-chorus-verse and in this remix, that structure was thrown out the window but it actually kind of worked for them.

The song I was most curious about the remix was “In The End” or on the Reanimation album “Enth E Nd.”  The remix had new lyrics and a new tone. The original is a very somber and slow song about failure and the remix is more up-tempo with a heavy hip-hop vibe. The opening of the song sounds like a CD skipping and had a lot of vinyl scratching throughout the track. I thought I had a bad version of the song at first but then realized it was just how it was mixed.  The track also featured KutMasta Kurt and Motion Man. I wasn’t a huge fan of this version. I liked the lyrics but wasn’t feeling the hip-hop vibe to it.

In the end (no pun intended) it’s pretty bold to take a successful album and redo it. Some people (like myself) might call you lazy and to be more original, but what I discovered is that you can successfully take old material and turn it into something completely new and have it at the same caliber as the original. I’m still not a huge Linkin Park fan, but I enjoyed this album, and maybe even a little more than original.

 

_________________

Written by: Katie Sperduti

 

 

6 thoughts on “Reanimation

  1. Having read this I believed it was rather enlightening. I appreciate you taking the time and effort to
    put this information together. I once again find myself personally spending a significant amount of time both reading and commenting.
    But so what, it was still worthwhile!

  2. Hey there! I know this is kinda off topic but I was wondering which blog platform are you using for
    this website? I’m getting sick and tired of WordPress because I’ve had problems with hackers and
    I’m looking at options for another platform. I would be fantastic if you could point me in the direction of a good platform.

Leave a Reply

