Heartthrob

The other day while watching TV, a commercial for Express (clothing store) came on. In the background there were some familiar voices, but the music didn’t match the voices. An infectious sythn filled pop song was bursting through the speakers and I thought to myself “this sounds like Tegan and Sara but it’s almost too poppy.” I was pleasantly surprised when I found out it was indeed the band of sisters and the song? Their can’t-get-it-out-of-your-head single “Closer.”

Don’t be mistaken, this duo has been making catchy music for years, but with their new album Heartthrob, it sounds like the sisters are testing new waters. Mark my words, if “Closer” isn’t already on your party play list, you’ll be adding it immediately after you hear it. The electric pop song is so packed with energy that you can’t help but get yourself on the dance floor.  This song is my current obsession and I don’t think it’s going to be replaced anytime soon. I’m not the only one obsessed with this song; I’ve heard that it recently was featured on the hit Fox series Glee.

While listening to the album, there was definitely a theme going on; love. The album seems to go through all the emotions, from happy and hopeful (like in “Closer”) to regretful and sad, like in “I was a fool.”  What kills me about this song (in a good way) is how even though the song is a tale of a failed relationship, the synthesizer and drum machine somehow keep it upbeat. This song reminds me of a power ballad from the ’80s, it could have easier been Madonna (in her early years) or Cyndi Lauper.

Now that I think of it, “I Was A Fool” was not the only song that had an ’80s vibe to it.  The heavily laced bass and drum track of “Shock To Your System” sounds like it belongs on a Pat Benetar or Heart album. There’s a lot of power in the lyrics and the subtlety of the twin sisters, a lot like the power you would hear from The Wilson sisters in Heart or in Benetar anthem. What I love so much about Tegan and Sara is how cool and nonchalant they are with music. What I mean by this is, some performers feel like they have to scream or belt out a note to really drive the point home, or to give it some power. Yes, these tactics do drive the point home, but Tegan and Sara have that same amount of power without having to showboat (for lack of better words).

The quirky Canadian sister team has returned to the music scene with a vengeance. It’s natural for artists to evolve and try new things with their music. Sometimes it’s a hit, sometimes it’s a miss. Taking such a huge step out of your comfort zone can be tough, but Tegan and Sara nailed it. They’ve always made infectious pop music but with this new album, the format is amplified. If you haven’t picked up their new album Heartthrob yet, now would be a good time.

 

__________________

Written by: Katie Sperduti

Leave a comment