Fall Out Boy: Saviors of Rock and Roll?

I have a confession to make… my name is Katie and I am a closet Fall Out Boy fan. Yes, I’ve been one of those people (for years now) who publicly hated the band, but secretly rocked out to them when I was alone in my room.

When they released their newest single “My Songs Know What You Did in the Dark (Light ’em Up),” I first heard it on my favorite radio show and from there, my love affair with Fall Out Boy began again.

Their newest album “Save Rock and Roll” is a triumphant return to the scene after a hiatus (even though singer Patrick Stump released a solo album) and for the most part, I’m hearing great things about the album. But what did I think of it?

Their first single,“My Songs Know What You Did in the Dark (Light ’em Up),” had me hooked as soon as I heard it. In fact, it was the chorus that really did me in and it isn’t really anything special. “My Songs Know What You Did in the Dark …so light ’em up.”  Something about the energy of Stump screaming those words at you with the driving drums and the guitar wailing in the background just gets you pumped up. Fair warning to all the listeners out there, once you hear this song, you will not be able to get it out of your head.

Something else that caught my eye about the album was the fact that the band did a duet with Courtney Love. No, I’m not joking. Haters hate on! I love Courtney Love and I think it’s the perfect pairing. The song, “Rat a Tat” immediately starts with Love growling “It’s Courtney, Bitch” then works right into the actual song. This bass heavy song features Stump and Love sharing the lead vocal duties and what I really love is the contrast between the two voices. For the most part, Love is just growling her way through the song with some angry spoken word while Stump sings but somewhere towards the end, we get to hear the former Hole front woman sing.

While it’s not completely out of the ordinary to hear Fall Out Boy do a song that their fans can dance to, “Miss Missing You” had more of a electronic ’80s vibe to it. I’ve never really heard a synthesizer on on of their tracks (but maybe I’m mistaken) but it actually works. I give them credit for experimenting with a new sound. With comeback albums, it’s either hit or miss and trying new things can kill an album. Luckily, they didn’t completely blow it.

Another thing I give the guys credit for is the duets on the album and the different artists they did them with. Courtney Love, rapper Big Sean and Elton John are just a few of the artists featured on the album. Unexpected and unlikely, but daring pairings for the band.

All in all, I actually really enjoyed the album. It mixes the classic Fall Out Boy sound that fans have grown to love with a wild side (the duets). Old and new fans alike will dig this album, it’s certainly made me a believer again. Check it out now!

 

_______________

Written by: Katie Sperduti

Leave a Reply

