Magic Addict

I will readily and openly admit that I am just a little bit too obsessed with magic. Not the card game thing that I’ve never played, or the Las Vegas sideshow filled with sleights of hand and beautiful assistants. But real magic – the kind that you can only find in stories and books and televisions shows and movies. Every kid at some point or another believes that she had magic – she blinks her eyes and the poor television reception immediately comes back; she wiggles her fingers and the best song of the moment comes on the radio; she concentrates until her eyes start to shake on their own in her head and Mom offers her a freshly made cookie. Every kid believes in magic, believes she has magic, believes that magic is always swirling around her and we just have to practice really hard to get it.magic-trick

I never really grew out of that belief.

When you look around at popular books, the most-watched television shows, and the blockbuster films constantly turning out month after month, they have a great deal in common – magic. The Avengers is a film filled with characters with supernatural abilities or magical powers. Once Upon A Time is a television show with fairy tale characters trapped in small town America. Harry Potter is magic incarnate. Vampires, witches, wizards, werewolves, zombies, dragons, fairies, and more – magic is everywhere.

And given the amount of money people my age are spending to see these films and buy these books, clearly I’m not alone in my desire to bring magic back into this world. There is realistic magic and ridiculous magic. There is hopeful magic and unheard of magic. Wherever you turn, wherever you look, wherever you read, there is magic somewhere.

Is it just me, or has there been more magic for the general consumption out there lately? Maybe I’m just starting to pay attention, or maybe my generation is just more willing to fork over the dough for magic than previous generations. It’s probably both, and probably includes a few other factors I haven’t thought of yet, but look at it – Marvel Comics comes out with a new film every few months: Iron Man, Thor, The Hulk, Captain America, The Avengers. There are television shows all about magic: True Blood, Game of Thrones, Once Upon a Time, Grimm, Supernatural, Revolution, the entire SyFy network. Harry Potter jump started a whole new generation of books and booklovers.

I feel like a junky. I read and watch them all, and I can’t wait for the next one to come out. Some people complain that all Hollywood does right now is make sequels – but when you’ve got a topic such as magic, how can you just let it die out? I am from a generation that was fed magic like candy. We crave it like cookies. And our habit is being fed daily.

I have been thinking about magic for a while. It’s kind of a common theme in my conversations with myself. Sometimes with others, but let’s be honest, mostly with myself. Now I’m going to put it down on paper. Well – electronic paper.

The magic in my life today – only had to restart my internet once, and my computer hasn’t crashed on me in over a week. Sometimes it’s the little things that are the most magical.

 

 

________________________________________

Written by Kelli Lapointe

Leave a Reply

